Thursday, October 7, 2010

Vargas Llosa Is Awarded Nobel Prize in Literature

Mario Vargas Llosa

By Julie Bosman

The Peruvian writer Mario Vargas Llosa, whose deeply political work vividly examines the perils of power and corruption in Latin America, won the 2010 Nobel Prize in Literature on Thursday. 

Announcing the award in Stockholm, the Swedish Academy praised Mr. Vargas Llosa “for his cartography of the structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual’s resistance, revolt and defeat.”

Mr. Vargas Llosa, 74, is one of the most celebrated writers of the Spanish-speaking world, frequently mentioned with his contemporary Gabríel Garcia Márquez, who won the literature Nobel in 1982, the last South American to do so. He has written more than 30 novels, plays and essays, including “The Feast of the Goat” and “The War of the End of the World.” 

In selecting Mr. Vargas Llosa, the Swedish Academy has once again made a choice that is infused with politics. In 1990, he ran for the presidency of Peru and has been an outspoken activist in his native country. 

The awards ceremony is planned for December, 10 in Stockholm. As the winner, Mr. Vargas Llosa will receive 10 million Swedish kronor which is about $1.5 million.

Mr. Vargas Llosa is currently spending the semester teaching Latin American studies at Princeton University.

Also of interest


Article source here